We had our first test game last night using the rules (See the Wargamorium Blog https://thewargamorium.wordpress.com/) and I am still a little confused by the hand to hand combat sequence
In the Impact phase Side A (Mounted Knights) charged and forced the enemy to flee. Side A was obliged to follow up and then pursue. However in pursuing he had no option but to enter an enemy Zone of Control and had to stop. His impact had been restored so does he fight that enemy unit immediately or in the next combat phase – i.e. in Side B’s next combat phase? The Zone of Control rules (Page 13) says that any enemy unit that enters this zone must stop and engage in combat" This could be interpreted as immediately.
The situation arose in our test game where Side B (also mounted knights) was in a phase 2 ongoing melee with a foot unit and that melee had been adjudicated but with no result. Side A’s pursuing knights then arrived in the adjacent square and wanted to initiate a new melee immediately together with the foot unit as a multiple attack.
Can you tell us please what the situation should be.
p.s. I have another similar problem which I will post later.
Although one unit may be engaged in combat with 1 or more enemy units, this is resolved as a single combat and any contact with a new enemy resulting from this by recoil or flee result is resolved in the following combat phase.
You may have answered my next query which is as follows:-
Side B is lined up hex to hex in a line. Side A attacks hex to hex in a line. In one unit to unit impact Side B flees so Side A (mounted knights) is obliged to follow up into the vacated hex. By doing so he is in the Zone of the two adjacent Side B defenders and so stops his pursuit. Does he melee with one or both sides in the next combat phase? Bear in mind that both sides are already in melee with other Side A units at the same time and may well continue in hand to hand in the next combat phase. Or does he continue his pursuit as both sides are engaged in melee?
Final question: In the impact or hand to hand combat Side B loses 4 bases and flees. We have interpreted this as a total elimination and although Side A must follow up and occupy the vacated hex, he does not have to pursue as the enemy no longer exists. Are we correct?
Sorry for all the questions
In answering your second question, it is important to note that any 4 stand unit ( including all cavalry and infantry except 6 stand hordes), which have lost three stands is eliminated - the last stand is always automatically removed . The victorious unit must occupy the now vacant hex and there is no enmy unit left to persue.